It is one of the oldest departments of the college and is holding on to the legacy of academic excellence handed down by generations of eminent teachers alumni. The students of the dept are encouraged to participate in debates and seminars on topics related not only to the syllabus but also to current affairs of national and international relevance. The students of this department performed extremely well in the debate, quiz and essay writing competition which were organised as a part of the Voters’ Awareness Programme held on 16-01 -2012.


Sm. Sarbari Dutta M.A., M. Phil. Associate Professor
Smt. Nisha Tamang M.A.  (Head of the Department) Assistant Professor
Sri. Tuhin Kumar Das M.A.,M.Phil. Assistant Professor
Sm. Debasree Mukherjee M.A., M.Phil Lecturer – Part Time
Sm. Sukanya Ghosh M.A., M.Phil, B.Ed Lecturer – Part Time
Sm. Kaberi Mukherjee  M.A.,M.Phil Lecturer – Part Time
 Sri Anambar Aditya Chaudhury  M.A., M.Phil Guest Lecturer