One of the oldest departments of the college, the History Department has produced a number of bright students who have proved themselves in different walks of life. Its alumni include no less a personality than our Honourable Chief Minister Smt. Mamata Banerjee.

Smt. Sujata Ghosh, retired teacher of the Dept. was honoured as the founder Secretary (1961 -64) of the Institute of Historical Studies which recently completed fifty years of its existence.


Sm. Romila Chowdhury M.A.  (Head of the Department) Associate Professor
Smt. Shrabonee Basu M.A., B.Ed., M.Phil. Associate Professor
Sri. Aditya Haldar M.Phil. Assistant Professor
Sri. Prasun Sarkar M.A. Guest Lecturer
Sri Arnab Adhikari M.A., M.Phil Guest Lecturer
Sm. Swarnali Biswas  M.A. Guest Lecturer