The department boasts of a distinguished faculty, both past and present, and many successful alumni. Dr. Subrata Gupta, former Principal of the college, is an eminent scholar and writer of many textbooks in Economics. Dr. Indrani Mukherjee, retired teacher of the department, was a student of this college. She was a rank-holder in the MA (Economics) examinations of Calcutta University. Dr. Lekha Mukhopadhyay, Head of the Dept., is a SANDEE (South Asian Network of Development of Environmental Economics; a World Bank Wing of South-Asian Countries) Research Associate. She has been honoured by many international fellowships like World Bank Felllowships, Fulbright Fellowship in Environmental Economics. Together with Sri. Bhaskar Ghosh, Assistant Professor of the Department of Geology, she has carried on a number of interdisciplinary research works and their papers have been presented in many international conferences including World Congress of Environment and Resource Economics. Dr. Rajesh Bhatttacharya, Assistant Professor (now on lien) has joined South Asian University in New Delhi after completion of his Ph.D. Degree.


Dr. Lekha Mukhopadhyay M.Sc., M, Phil, Ph. D Associate Professor
Dr. Gautam Kumar Sarkar M.Sc., M, Phil, Ph. D Associate Professor
Sri Sumon Roy M.A., B.Ed   (Head of the Department) Assistant Professor
Dr. Prasenjit Ghosh M.Sc,M.Phil.,Ph.D.,B.Ed. Assistant Professor
Sm. Pallavi Das M.Sc, M.Phil Guest Lecturer